Q&A with Abigail Blake

Muti-talented, singer-songwriter Abigail Blake hasn’t taken many breaks since her latest release. Party Tricks was released in 2016 and had a music video with a group of voluntaries showcasing their party tricks. Abigail’s out there ideas are what could have lead to her style of music, twinkle-step. The mix of pop, electronic music and harp makes for an interesting and iconic sound for the young artist. With all her music being created and produced single-handedly, it’s clear she is a very busy person.

Q: What are you working on at the moment?

A: I’m always working on new music. At the moment I’ve got a few songs on the go, all at the same early stages of production. It’s hard to pick one and stick with it because I get so many ideas all at once.

Q: How did the last single go?

A: It went ok thanks – super happy with the song but I’ve now got a 9-5 job as money is an issue for me at the moment, so I didn’t have as much time to promote it!

Q: So with a 9-5, how do you plan on getting more music done?

A: I plan to really knuckle down with the next release and make time to show the world.

Q: When’s the next release?

A: Who knows? Hopefully by the end of the month!

Q: How did getting volunteers for the last video work out?

A: Terrible. This is another reason I work alone – people just aren’t reliable! Huge love for everyone that did get involved on the day though.

Q: Would it be something you’d consider again?

A: Maybe when I earn myself a bigger fan base and people would be more willing to get involved!

Q: What’s it like producing and working on everything single handed?

A: It’s impossible! At the end of the day, everything needs prioritising – music production, performance practicing, gigging, promoting, filming videos. It’s all so important, but there are only so many hours in the day. I try and strike a balance… but is it better to do one thing really well, or everything average? I feel like I’m working at average at the moment, which doesn’t represent how passionate and hard working I am.

Q: Are you going to be including any other instruments in the future?

A: Recently, I’ve started sitting at the piano more often. I’d love to make more of that. The studio I work in has a few vintage electronic organ type things… would love to get some interesting sounds from them!

 

phil Written by Phil Revitt

Like what you’ve read? Drop down to our names on the menu below, to see what else we’ve written.

Leave a Reply

